May 14th

This day has always been good to me. Well, for the past couple of years.

Two years ago, on May 14th I graduated from high school.

Image

Seriously, the best picture I have from my graduation ceremony. Before it, my mom found some random girl, bribed her to take pictures, and gave her my camera. I’m 99.9% sure she paid her. They’re all TERRIBLE. Blurry, tons of random people and like three of me. Another friend of mine took pictures of like post-graduation, and so did my grandparents. But I have no idea where those are.

I’m also loving the awkward fat Anna stage I’m in in that picture.

Anyways.

May 14th of LAST year, I got my job at Chick-fil-A. I had my second interview in the morning with the operator, went home, and got a call that afternoon from him asking when I could start. I was like, “Hmm. How about next week?” And he laughed and said, “How about tomorrow?” I went in for orientation that evening, and was back at the palace at 6:00 the next morning to learn how to open.

Fun fact: I cried myself to sleep the night before I went in because I was so scared I wouldn’t do well, I didn’t want to wake up at 5 in the morning, and I had heard that the morning manager was super mean. (She was. She yelled at me several times, mainly because I had no idea what the heck I was doing.)

Looking back, I really have worked hard to get to where I am today at the palace. I’m there five nights a week, I know how to do every position on front counter, have basic kitchen knowledge, and for the most part I enjoy what I do.

Sometimes.

As long as I don’t have to talk through orders. Or deal with jerks. Which is every night now that I think about it….

I love my job.

So, this date is really special to me. And I’m very nostalgic with dates. I can tell you the good ones, the bad ones, the special ones. Like when the Seven Brides cast list came out, and when Sleeping Beauty show week was. When I graduated (obviously). When I made the decision to go to Biola. But the fact that May 14th has been a good day two years in a row, it makes it extra special.

I’m also wondering if anything exceptional and life changing will happen on this day. If it’s for the good, I’m hoping so. If not, then leave my May 14th alone.

Leave a Reply

