Hospital Days

Hi.

Remember me?

Yeah, it’s been a while. I have been slacking big time blogging.

But not with exercising, and attempting to eat healthy. That counts, right?

Everything was fine ‘n dandy until Monday. Then this happened.Image Yeah. Hospitalized. There is a story behind this.

So, last week my right side started to hurt. Being a hypocondriac, I started freaking out thinking it was appendicitis. The pain was off and on, so I wasn’t that concerned. Sunday night the pain went from a dull, tingling pain to a sharp pain with a burning sensation. Monday night at work it was to the point I could barely stand up straight or walk. It was off the ER for me. With it (apparently) being a full moon, the ER was packed. (No idea if that has anything to do with it, but this lady sitting next to me said that. She had on tie-dyed pants and a brown t-shirt, so I’m pretty sure she knows what she’s talking about.)

Here’s my beef with the Emergency room. Let’s say someone who is in a tremendous amount of pain is there, and has been there for a while. A little kid comes in with a cough and the sniffles. The little kid gets to go back first. Even though that person may be sitting there with their appendix ready to burst at any second. BUT IT’S FINE I’M OVER IT.

Yeah, yeah, I get that little nuggets’ health are more fragile than mine. Every time I go to the ER (which isn’t often). I always get passed up for a nugget with the sniffles.

Anyways.

I get to the ER around 10:20, get checked in, and wait. Around 11:30 I get to talk to the triage nurse who really just kept asking me about my job because I was in my uniform. At 1, I got to go back to a room, and they made me give them a urine sample.

Okay. So. 99% of the time, I can pee on command. I drink so much water, it just goes through me. But give me a cup and put me under pressure, and my bladder will do nothing.

At 1:30 my nurse give me an IV (and misses, so blood is literally everywhere) and tell me my urine sample isn’t good enough. (My bladder was so offended by that.) The doctor comes in and tells me I get to have a CT scan. How fun. At 2:45, I got to have my CT scan, and they injected iodine in me. Weirdest. Feeling. Ever. It rushed down to my pelvis, and I don’t even know. So weird.

3:30 comes, and we get the results. No appendicitis, but ovarian cysts, and they thought that one had ruptured. In order to see what’s going on, they command that I need to have an ultrasound done. And they give me a catheter.

Why. WHY. I don’t want another catheter again for the rest of my life. It was just really awkward, and bad, and my nurse didn’t like me so it wasn’t fun.

They had to call in the ultrasound technician, so it was about 4:30 by the time she came. I got my ultrasound done, and she decided that I hadn’t gone through enough torture yet, so I got to have a transvaginal ultrasound done.

If you haven’t had one of those, avoid it at all costs.

I mean it.

I got wheeled back to my room, and laid there in agony from the catheter, the IV, and the TV ultrasound. My evil nurse comes back and yanks my catheter out, and then her and my mom get into an argument over the fact that I have been there for seven hours. There was a critical condition across the hall, and my doctor was dealing with that. Which is totally understandable. I just wanted to go home, and since we found out that I didn’t have appendicitis, we just wanted to leave. The nurse got super offended by that, and said: “Your situation isn’t as important, and isn’t our top priority at the moment.”

Ouch. Don’t say that to my face. Just let me go home.

Oh well, she’ll regret it when I’m famous.

😛

Finally, at 5:30 I was released and was able to go home. I got about six hours of sleep, and then went to work. My co-workers asked me why I didn’t call out, and after about two hours into my shift I was asking myself the same thing.

Today, I basically laid on the couch all day, and then walked three and a half miles.

Moral of the story: Ovarian cysts hurt, I have no luck with nurses, and if I think it’s appendicitis, it’s not.

So that’s my story on the past couple of days, and really the only thing that is blog-worthy.

Have a great day, and don’t get ‘appendicitis’.

Anyone who has/had ovarian cysts, what are some things you do to ease the pain? Any tips on how to live with them?

Leave a Reply

